Ash Wednesday

Ash Wednesday… I feel so humbled when I receive my ashes. From dust you came, to dust you return.  How humbling is that though?! I loved mass tonight.  I think I finally found my home parish and I’m so excited to celebrate the wonderful mystery of God’s love and sacrifice here.  Father talked about why we put ashes on our heads and I loved it.  He explained that these ashes are reminders that we are not our own.  That we are God’s.  He also talked about having a visual reminder of our Lenten sacrifices.  I’m not doing it justice but it was really wonderful.

Today has been hard.  I realized how dependent I have become on social media.  I kept grabbing my phone and looking at it hoping there was a notification from Facebook.  It also reminded me that I’m in this journey alone… it’s just me and God and that’s scary.  I don’t like being alone. I don’t like feeling like I’m walking through this alone, but I love that I have a God that will ever leave me nor forsake me.

Today’s verse for my Lenten Devotion was Isaiah 6:1-7.  My focus verse was “And he touched my mouth and said: ‘Behold, this has touched your lips; your guilt is taken away, and your sin atoned for.'” (Verse 7).  How amazing is it that our sins are forgiven?! I’m so happy today.  Hungry, but happy.  I have an amazing God who stands by me and leads me to follow him.  I wish I had the words to describe how in love I am with God.

On a personal note, I’m loving my veil!! It’s taking a lot to push past my unnecessary anxiety about wearing it to mass, but I love when I do.  It helps me focus on the homily and what God is asking of me.  If you’re looking to start veiling, or just looking for a quality veil, check out http://www.veilsbylily.com!! She’s amazing!!

Happy Ash Wednesday, and may God Bless you this Lenten Season!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment