Lent

The Lenten season is upon us!! This is the time of year where we make these “promises” to give up something in order to help us focus on our relationship with God and the sacrifice his son showed us on the cross.  This time of year is a time of renewal and Lent is a way for us to start new ourselves.  

I have to be honest, I never actually complete Lent to the fullest.  I have the worst will power EVER!!!! I usually try and give up soda, or chocolate, or meat for the whole 40 days and I always, ALWAYS, cheat.  This year, my Lenten sacrifice is three fold.  I feel like this is a time for me to completely focus myself on God and his plan for my life: emotionally, spiritually, and physically! 

Emotionally: I will be giving up all of Social Media for the 40 days (and possibly beyond).  I find myself getting jealous and frustrated about the way my life is going (not being married at almost 30, not having a child at almost 30, living in a house that makes me physically sick when I’m in it at almost 30) so I need a break.  I need a break from all the baby announcements, marriage announcements, political posts, hatred, and anger that seem to fill my time line.  I need to work on myself and not focus on the things I don’t have.

Spiritual: I will be praying the rosary everyday during the 40 days.  This is something I wanted to do last year for Lent, but like I always do, I gave up only a few days into it.  It’s hard to find 10 to 15 minutes to just sit and pray, but with social media gone, I should have plenty of time to devote to devotions and prayer.  So I’m going to be focusing on my relationship with God in hopes that the depression and anxiety I feel on a daily bases gets better.  

Physically: This one is a hard one.  I need to get back to the gym and eating better so that I can feel and look better.  Might seem a bit conceited, but there’s something that is directly tied to self esteem and going to the gym.  I’ll be thirty in June and I want my birthday to be filled with happiness and not sadness that I’m 30 and none of my dreams have been realized.  

I do have plans on keeping this blog going during the 40 days, even though my social media accounts will be frozen.   So if you’re interested in following along with my Lenten journey, stay tuned!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

