Valentine’s Day

Beautiful roses, boxes of chocolate, cuddly stuffed animals, romantic cards, a wine filled dinner… this is what you think about when you think “Valentine’s Day”.

But what happens when your SO isn’t the tradition romantic type?

As a very emotional, high strung women, I get offended when my hopes for something get up and nothing happens. I expected a bouquet of flowers or at least a card today. I mean, I made him cookies and a cute, nerdy card. It’s not wrong for me to expect a $20 bouquet!! In fact, most would say that I should expect something that small. But I didn’t get flowers. I didn’t get a card or a teddy bear. But what I got was so much more.

I got Love. My amazing boyfriend filled up my gas tank, made sure I had some extra money to get through the week, took me to a nice lunch and even better dinner. He kissed my forehead and held my hand. He hugged me and held me and told me he loved me all day. And in the beginning I was such a B word. We yelled at each other and cried at the things we said. I had allowed these unforeseen expectations, these facebook posts and Instagram pictures, define how I thought Valentine’s Day should be. And I almost ruined it.

It was so hard for me to come to terms that when I got out of my car and into his there wasn’t at least one flower waiting for me! When did I become such a shallow and ungrateful women?! I’m ashamed of myself for allowing these outside influences gauge how my day was going to go. Once the yelling and crying stopped, the day was amazing. I had to remind myself that he loves me the way he loves. And I love him the way I love. I gave him homemade cookies and a homemade card. And he made sure I had everything I needed to have a good rest of the week.

I’m so blessed to have a man that is patient and kind to me. I’m blessed to have a boyfriend, and a God for that matter, that loves me the way I need to be loved, not the way I want to be loved. I need to get out of my own way and allow my boyfriend to love me the way he loves and to stop trying to change him.

I had a great Valentine’s Day. And I’m looking forward to more days like today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

