This is How I Worship

image-1

I mentioned yesterday that my favorite site to purchase veils is Veils By Lily.  She states on her homepage that:

Like a religious habit, your veil is a public proclamation of your desire to submit to the will of God for your life, and of your commitment to answering the universal call to holiness and continual conversion. Your veil is also a sign of the great dignity inherent to a woman, who has the potential to receive life within herself… both human life and the supernatural life of God.

I love this.  I love that wearing a veil is a sign that I desire to live my life in accordance to God’s will for my life and that it signifies my commitment to try to achieve holiness.

But there’s an argument I’d like to present to the court.  In 1 Corinthians 11:13 it poses a question that stumps me today:

Judge for yourselves: Is it proper for a wife to pray with her head uncovered?

In this particular translation of the verse, it states wife.  However, in other translations it states “woman” instead of wife.  So does this mean that a woman, or a wife, can’t even pray with her head uncovered?  Now 1 Corinthians 11 goes on to explain that a woman’s long hair is considered her covering.  Basically saying that because you wear your hair long, it is considered your “veil”.  I know that many Protestant denominations dislike their women to cut their hair for this particular reason.  But is it really that important to God that women keep their hair long, or wear a veil at all times?  I pray daily, and I don’t cover my head, nor do I have long hair.  So, do my prayers get heard even though I don’t have these things?  So I asked my boyfriend, a man who was on his way to become a priest but felt that God was calling him elsewhere.

I don’t see why not.  God hears prayers period.

I personally believe that you don’t need to have your head covered to pray.  I think wearing a veil is more for the fact that when you walk into mass, you’re walking into the very presence of God.  Catholics believe that when you take Holy Communion you are eating and drinking the very literal body and blood of Christ.  It’s a very traditional and serious moment.  There’s so much reverence in the church when the Eucharist is displayed.  When the priest lifts up the body or the blood, inviting the Holy Spirit into the host and bell rings, I feel the uplifting presence of God enter that holy place.  I immediately bow my head, thanking the Lord for his goodness and mercy.  It wasn’t something someone had to teach me.  It was that feeling of unworthiness that lead me to reverently bow my head.

It’s in thinking about those moments that I decided that wearing a veil would help me with my relationship with Christ.  Knowing that when I walk through the doors of the sanctuary I’m walking into the presence of God has led me to look into the practice of veiling.  I believe that by covering my head in mass I am bringing glory to God and God alone.

There’s still that nagging sense of anxiety in my heart when I think about it, though.  Like I actually care about what others will think of me when I veil.  I constantly have to remind myself that the way I worship God is the way that I feel is best.  By wearing a veil I show those around me that I am serious about my calling and about presenting myself to God to use in his ministry.  Mass is about worshiping the one, true God.  Not showing up to impress those around me.

I pray that the Lord our God grants you peace and understanding as you walk through life with Him.  Be blessed, my friends!!

Elisabeth Ann

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

